
Hart County Sheriff’s Office 
890 Vickery Street 

Hartwell, GA 30643 
706-376-3114 

 
__________________________________________________________________ 

Secondary Metals Recycler Registration Form 
 
Pursuant to O.C.G.A. 10-1-360, beginning July 1, 2012, secondary metals recyclers who purchase 
regulated metal property in any quantity must register with the appropriate sheriff’s office or offices. 
 
To Determine the County of Registration 

 Business (Corporation or Partnership) 
If you registering as a business, you must register with the sheriff in each county where you 
maintain a place of business. If you maintain a place of business in more than one county, you 
must file a separate registration form for each business location. 

 Individual (Sole Proprietor) 
If you are registering as an individual, you must register in the county where you reside. 

 Non-resident of Georgia 
If you are not a resident of Georgia, you must register in the county where you primarily engage 
or intend to engage in the business as a secondary metals recycler. 

 
The Registration Process 
 

 Obtain a copy of the Secondary Metals Recycler Registration form by online at 
www.hartcountyga.gov or by visiting the Hart County Sheriff’s Office. 

 Complete and submit the registration form in person to the appropriate sheriff’s office or offices. 
 Application for registration must include: 

*Non Refundable Registration Fee 
Submit payment of $200 with the registration form; the payment must be made by check or   
money order payable to the Hart County Sheriff’s Office. Checks returned for insufficient funds 
are subject to a $30 service charge pursuant to O.C.G.A. 16-9-20 

              *Identification 
              *Citizenship /Qualified Alien Status 
                If you are a qualified alien, your Secure and Verifiable documentation must be attached to the  
                application. 

 Read the instructions carefully and be familiar with the laws governing Secondary Metals 
Recyclers in the State of Georgia. Visit our website for information at www.hartcountyga.gov.  

 
Registration 
Each registration is valid for a 12 month period beginning with the effective registration date as 
established by the sheriff’s office once all registration requirements are met. 
 
Questions? 
Contact Lt. Marshall Norton at the Hart County Sheriff’s Office at 706-856-5332 or e-mail at 
ltmnorton@hartsheriff.com.  
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Hart County Sheriff’s Office 
________________________________________________________________ 

Secondary Metals Recycler Registration 
County Where Business is Located: ________________ 
If you are registering in multiple counties, please complete a registration form for each county where you 
have a location. 
 
Name of Corporation or Partnership (if applicable)_________________________________________ 
 
Full Name of Individual Registering______________________________________________________ 
                                        (Please print) First                               Middle                                   Last 
 
Physical Address _____________________________________________________________________ 

Provide street address; include apartment number if applicable (P.O. Boxes not  
acceptable; must be a physical street address in Georgia where an individual can be 
located in person for the company). 
 
City/State/Zip 

 
Mailing Address ______________________________________________________________________ 
                              If different from above, provide street address, include apartment number if applicable,  
                              or, provide P.O. Box. 
 
                              ______________________________________________________________________ 
                              City/State/Zip 
 
Contact Information __________________________________________________________________ 
                                     E-mail 
 
                                     __________________________________________________________________ 
                                     Day Telephone Number               Evening Telephone Number             Cell Number 
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
If the on-site manager is different from above, complete the following information for the person who 
is currently the active on-site manager of the business. 
 
Name of the On-Site Managing Agent ____________________________________________________ 
                                (Please print)            First                              Middle                                 Last 
 
Physical address______________________________________________________________________                  

Provide you street address, include apartment number if applicable. (P.O. Box not        
acceptable).  

                               
                              ______________________________________________________________________ 
                              City/State/Zip 
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Contact Information __________________________________________________________________ 
                                     E-mail 
            
                                      __________________________________________________________________ 
                                     Day Telephone Number              Evening Telephone Number        Cell Number 
 
Attach registration fee: $200 (Non-refundable). The fee for checks returned due to insufficient 
funds is $30. Provide a copy of your identification. 
 
The period of registration shall be for one year. A new registration form and annual fee must be 
submitted to the sheriff of the county where the business is located or the individual resides by the 
expiration date of the preceding year. If the person fails to register annually on or before the date of 
registration, he/she shall be guilty of a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature. 
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Hart County Sheriff’s Office 
 

Secondary Metals Recycler Registration – Registrant Affidavit 
I hereby swear and affirm that all information provided in this registration form is true and correct to the 
best of my knowledge and belief. I further swear and affirm that I have read and understand the current 
laws relating to secondary metals recyclers of Georgia and I agree to abide by these laws, as amended 
from time to time. 
 
By signing this application, I hereby swear and affirm one of the following to be true and accurate 
pursuant to O.C.G.A. 50-36-1: 

1. ______ I am a United States citizen 18 years of age or older. Please submit a copy of your 
current Secure and Verifiable Document(s) such as driver’s license, passport, or other 
approved documentation. 

2. ______ I am not a United States citizen, but I am a legal permanent resident of the United States 
18 years of age or older, or I am a qualified alien or non-immigrant under the Federal 
Immigration and Nationality Act 18 years of age or older with an alien number issued by the 
Department of Homeland Security or other federal immigration agency. Please submit a copy of 
your current immigration document(s) which includes either your Alien Number or your I-94 
number and, if needed, SEVIS number. 

By signing below, I acknowledge that I understand that I must comply with all Georgia laws relevant to 
secondary metals recyclers at all times. 

 I am informed of the statutes pertaining to Secondary Metals Recyclers pursuant to HB472, and 
the following statutes of O.C.G.A. 10-1-350 through O.C.G.A. 10-1-363, O.C.G.A. 40-3-36, 
O.C.G.A. 40-3-56. 

 I acknowledge that I understand the definition of secondary metals recycler as defined in 
O.C.G.A. 10-1-350.  ‘Secondary metals recycler’ means any person who is engaged, from a fixed 
location or otherwise, in the business in this state of paying compensation for regulated metal 
property that has served its original economic purpose, whether or not engaged in the business of 
performing the manufacturing process by which the regulated property is converted into raw 
material products consisting of prepared grades and having an existing or potential economic 
value. 

 I understand I may visit www.georgiarecyclers.org for a summary of the laws relevant to Georgia 
secondary metals recycler information provided by The Georgia Recyclers Association but I 
understand that this summary does not substitute the advice of legal counsel or reading the actual 
laws. 

 
In making the above attestation, I understand that making any false statements or writings on any part or 
portion of this application is a violation of O.C.G.A. 16-10-20. Failure to make full and accurate 
disclosures may result in criminal prosecution. 
 
________________________________________________       _________________________________ 
Signature of Individual Completing Registration Application     Date 
 
________________________________________________ 
Print Individual Completing Registration Application 
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_____________________________________________________________________________________ 
TO BE COMPLETED IN THE PRESENCE OF THE SHERIFF OR HIS DESIGNEE UPON 
SUBMISSION OF THIS APPLICATION TO THE APPROPRIATE SHERIFF’S OFFICE 
 
_____________________________________________________        ____________________________ 
Secondary Metals Recycler Signature                                                      Date 
 
_____________________________________________________        ____________________________ 
Sheriff or Sheriff’s Designee Signature                                                    Date 
 
_____________________________________________________        ____________________________ 
Effective Date of Registration                                                                  Expiration Date of Registration 
 
_____________________________________________________ 
Registration Number 
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