HART COUNTY BOARD OF REGISTRARS

DATE: Thursday, June 25, 2013

LOCATION: Office of the Hart County Board of Registrars

ATTENDEES: Elizabeth G. Forbes, Chief Registrar/Hilda B. Mauldin, Board Member/Jane C. Kay, Board Member/Mary S. Stephens, Deputy

Registrar/Clerk/John C. Stercho, Incoming Board Member

This meeting was called to order at 4:00 P.M. by Elizabeth Forbes, Chief Registrar.

Chief Forbes thanked all for attending this final meeting of the current Board of Registrars. The new Board will take office at 12:01 A.M. on Monday, July 1st. For this final meeting the Chief reviewed the accomplishments of the Board over the past 7 years since she took office.

- 1. In 2006, approximately 700 voter registrations cards were found not to have voter signatures as required per Georgia Election Code. The Board and Clerk began the tedious task of contacting each voter and requiring new voter registration applications be completed with signatures. As of today, only 18 cards remain unsigned and voters not located. These voters will be removed in the upcoming 2013 NOACT2GE record purge.
- 2. The "auto-precinct" system was put into place by the Georgia Director of Elections. 911 addressing became the format on which the voter street maintenance was based. All voter addresses had to be verified and variances resolved. This new system helped to alleviate human error when assigning addresses to Precincts and Districts. This function became automatic through the SOS software system (after much street and file maintenance).
- 3. Redistricting took place in 2007 to level the voter numbers within Commission and School Districts. The process was repeated in 2011.

Several of the outgoing and incoming Registrar's had not visited our future facility located on Cade Street. The Clerk took the interested parties on a tour of the new facility. All agreed it was a positive move but logistics would need to be discussed for upcoming elections. The group returned to the Courthouse Annex Building for conclusion.

All above were planning to attend the 5:30 P.M. Commissioners meeting to support the outgoing Board Members at the certificate ceremony. Hilda Mauldin made the motion to adjourn the meeting at 5:00 P.M. Jane Kay seconded the motion. With no further discussion, this meeting was adjourned by Chief Elizabeth Forbes.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mary S. Stephens

Deputy Registrar/Clerk